Road closures in force as bridge replacement work for new Ilkeston station starts

New station at Ilkeston
New station at Ilkeston

Weekend road closures are to be in force in Ilkeston while work to remove and replace a footbridge for the town’s new railway station takes place.

The new station, being built off Millership Way and Coronation Road, is expected to open in late autumn. The £10 million scheme, a partnership between Derbyshire County Council and Network Rail, will be the first time a passenger station has operated in Ilkeston for over 50 years.

Work to dismantle the current bridge and put a new one in place to link the two new platforms was due to start last month but piling work to form the foundations for the platforms took longer than expected and delayed the bridge plans.

A series of weekend road closures will now be in place on Coronation Road from the junction with Station Street to the roundabout with Millership Way to allow the work to take place from:

• Midnight on Friday August 19 to 5am on Monday August 22

• Midnight on Friday August 27 to 5am on Monday August 29

• Midnight on Friday September 3 to 5am on Monday September 5

• Midnight on Friday September 10 to 5am on Monday September 12

• Midnight on Friday September 17 to 5am on Monday September 19

• Midnight on Friday September 24 to 5am on Monday September 26

Motorists are being advised to allow more time for journeys – particularly during the last three weekends when nearby Awsworth Road will also be closed for a separate Network Rail bridge replacement project.

Traffic will be diverted via Millership Way, Rutland Street, Chalons Way and Station Road and vice versa.

In between the closures, traffic over the Coronation Road bridge will be reduced to one lane to allow pedestrians access over the road bridge using a temporary walkway separated from traffic by barriers.

Temporary traffic lights will control the single lane traffic and vehicles over three metres wide will need to use the diversion route.