Award dedicated in memory of Ilkeston nurse

editorial image

A team from Ilkeston Community Hospital dedicated an award to a former colleague who died recently.

The team members who work in the Hopewell and Heanor Ward were named Team of the Year in the Extra Mile Awards 2015. The awards celebrate exceptional staff at Derbyshire Community Health Services NHS Foundation Trust

Team member Dianne McCormack passed away last month after nursing in Ilkeston for 31 years. Ward manager Deborah Brailsford dedicated the award to Dianne, a well-loved and dedicated member of the nursing team, who had been due to attend the awards evening.

The ward staff were nominated by former colleague Mandy Miles in recognition of the outstanding care they provide to patients and families who need rehabilitation and who are nearing the end of their lives.

She said: “The team has made great strides in working together since the closure of Heanor Hospital, coming together as one team under one roof.”

Other winners included Ilkeston Hospital-based NHS manager Jackie Rawlings who was named Outstanding Leader 2015.

Jackie, who manages health services across Erewash and parts of Amber Valley, was put forward by many colleagues for her quietly innovative leadership, commitment to developing the best possible NHS services and supporting her staff.

The award was presented to Jackie during the ceremony at Derby’s Roundhouse on March 26.

Ilkeston hospital matron, Jenny Harrison, said: “In my 35 years in the NHS, Jackie is the best all round manager that I have ever worked for.”

The Erewash ‘welcome home’ phone call service won an innovation award. The service involves ringing patients to check they are coping in the first two days after leaving hospital.