Candidates announced for Sawley by-election

Share this article

CANDIDATES for Sawley’s county council by-election have been announced.

The by-election follows the death of long standing councillor Bill Camm in April.

The three candidates who will contest the by-election are, Fiona Aanonson for the Liberal Democrats, Leader of Erewash Borough Council, Chris Corbett, for the Conservative Party and Labour’s candidate for Erewash MP at last year’s general election, Cheryl Pidgeon.

Nominations had to be made by the deadline, at 12noon on Friday June 10.

The closing date for anyone wishing to apply for a postal or proxy vote or who needs to add themselves to the voting register is Wednesday June 22.

For more information contact the council’s elections team on 0115 907 1190 or email