Latest list of candidates

EREWASH Borough Council has revealed the candidates for the forthcoming parish council elections.

But there will not be parish council elections in every ward as five of them in Erewash are uncontested.

An uncontested ward is one in which there are as many candidates to fill the seats available on the parish council as needed, or fewer.

This means those persons nominated are automatically elected and there will be no parish council election.

Voters at the polls on May 5 in those parishes will still be able to cast their votes for their relevant Erewash borough ward – just not for their relevant parish ward.

For our readers in the Broxtowe and Amber Valley boroughs – including the villages of Awsworth, Cossall, Trowell, Shipley, Smalley and Mapperley, as well as the town of Stapleford – we have included a list of borough council nominations, left, and parish council nominations along with Erewash, below.