Narrow victory for Tories

AFTER ten hours and several recounts the Conservative Party has retained control of Erewash Borough Council by just one seat at the 2011 borough elections.

The result was announced at 8am on Friday May 6 after polls closed at 10pm the previous day.

There will now be 26 Conservative councillors and 25 Labour representatives in the council chamber, with both Liberal Democrat and both Independent councillors losing their seats.

Leader of the Consevatives, Cllr Chris Corbett, said: “We’re absolutely delighted.

“It was very close and there were times when I thought we might not do it but we’ve won it and we’re happy about that.”

Leader of the Labour party, Howard Griffiths said: “There were some mixed results but we’re happy with what we’ve achieved tonight.

“We’ve fought a long, hard and professional campaign.”

For a full round up see next week’s Advertiser out on Thursday May 12.