Opposition cabinet re-shuffle

Share this article

Erewash Labour group has re-shuffled its shadow cabinet as it looks towards elections in 2015.

Leader Cllr Alex Phillips and deputy Cllr James Dawson emain in their positions.

But Cllr Clare Neill has stepped aside to let in Stanley member Linda McGraw take charge of community engagement.

Cllr John Frudd replaces Cllr David Morgan –who is stepping down at the 2015 elections – as chief whip.

And Cllr Glennice Birkin and Sawley’s Cllr Russ Walford are new assistant whips.

Kirk Hallam’s Cllr Louis Booth remains as culture and leisure spokesman and Cotmanhay’s Cllr Jane Wilson heads community safety.

Cllr Phillips said Erewash was at a ‘crossroads’ as it tries to balance a new train station with boosting the high street and building houses with protecting the environment.

“Tough choices will have to be made – but these are the people who are best suited to make them as we prepare our offer to the people of Erewash for the borough and general elections in 2015,” he said.