Voters get ready to go to polls

Ballot box
Ballot box

It is just days until the voters of Ilkeston head to polling stations for the European Elections.

Candidates from the Conservative Party, English Democrats, Green Party, Harmony Party, Labour, Liberal Democrats, British National Party and the United Kingdom Independence Party (UKIP) will battle it out to represent the East Midlands in Brussels and Strasbourg.

The vote is on Thursday May 22 and the East Midlands region, which covers Ilkeston, will elect five Euro-MPs using the proportional representation system.

The candidates are:

An Independence from 

Chris Pain

Val Pain

lan Jesson

John Beaver

Carl Mason

British National Party (BNP)

Catherine Ann Marie Duffy

Robert Malcolm Brian West

Bob Brindley

Geoffrey William Dickens

Paul Hilliard

Conservative Party

Emma McClarkin

Andrew Iain Lewer

Rupert Oliver Matthews

Stephen John Castens

Brendan Clarke-Smith

English Democrats

Kevin Sills

David Wickham

John Dowle

Oliver Healey

Terry Spencer

Green Party

Kat Boettge

Sue Mallender

Richard Mallender

Peter Duncan Allen

Simon Edward Hales

Harmony Party

Steve Ward

Labour Party

Glenis Willmott

Rory Palmer

Linda Woodings

Khalid Hadadi

Nicki Brooks

Liberal Democrats

Bill Newton Dunn

Issan Ul-Haque Ghazni

Phil Knowles

George Smid

Deborah Violet Newton-Cook

UK Independence Party (UKIP)

Roger Helmer

Margot Parker

Jonathan Deryck Bullock

Nigel Mark Wickens

Barry Joseph Mahoney.