Champions! Sandiacre claim national club crown

Sandiacre Town have won the National Club Championship for the second time after a close-run encounter with Surrey-based Sunbury CC in Bristol on Sunday.

Town won the game by two wickets, regaining the title they last won at Lord’s in 2003.

Sandiacre Town CC winners of the 2014 national cricket final at Bristol.

Sandiacre Town CC winners of the 2014 national cricket final at Bristol.

Of that team, only John Trueman and John Jordison remain, the latter putting a man-of-the-match performance as Sandiacre this time took the honours at the home of Gloucestershire County Cricket Club.

And it capped a superb weekend for Town as on Saturday they had won more silverware by winning the Derbyshire Premier Cup with a 55-run win over Ticknall.

In Bristol, Sunbury won the toss and elected to bat, a decision that proved a good one initially as openers Justin Grainger and John Maunders took their team past 50 and on to 67 before Marius Conway-Jones bowled Grainger for 30.

That prompted something of a collapse as Sunbury proceeded to lose their next three wickets with just 23 further runs added, Jordison bowling Adam London and having Maunders caught behind by Curtley Readbefore a fine run out courtesy of Conway-Jones’ direct hit saw off captain Oliver Roland-Jones.

Sunbury’s ship needed steadying and David Nash and Rhythm Bedi would be the ones to do so.

They helped take the score to 147-4 before Conway-Jones sent Nash’s bails flying for 35, Kevin Smith falling in similar fashion to Ryan McFadyean 31 runs later.

Skipper Dan Wheeldon helped make up for an expensive earlier spell by dismissing Vishal Manro, Adam Stanier became McFadyean’s second victim, Bedi finally fell for 52 off the bowling of Conway-Jones and Amar Virdi was bowled by the same man to leave Sunbury all out for 197.

Conway-Jones finished with 4-32, Jordison 2-21, McFadyean 2-23 and Wheeldon 1-64.

Sandiacre began well in reply, Andy Rhodes smacking four boundaries in his 32 before being out lbw to Maunders, but Ollie Swann added runs in a similar fashion before Matthew Todd sent him back to the pavilion for 40 as Sandiacre were 97-2.

That became 102-3 as James Chapman went for 33 and soon Sandiacre found themselves in some serious trouble as three quick wickets fell - those of Rob Cook, Read and Truman, and they were 129-6 with time running out.

Jack Anderson and Wheeldon took care over the next few overs, adding 26 before Anderson was out for 15.

Jordison the entered the fray and took the bull by the horns, hitting 25 in 20 balls alongside Wheeldon whose patience would prove crucial when Jordison was out with Sandiacre six runs short of victory with only three balls to spare.

Wheeldon obliged immediately, smashing the winning runs high over the square leg boundary to cap his 25 not out and send Sandiacre Town into ecstasy.

Derbyshire Premier Cup Final

Saturday’s Derbyshire Premier Cup win over Ticknall at Alvaston & Boulton CC came after Wheeldon had won the toss and opted to bat first, Sandiacre reaching 196 all out with useful contributions in particular from Chapman (37), Cook (37) and Wheeldon (45) - the captain’s knock rattled off in 20 balls with five sixes and a four.

Sandiacre had Ticknall in all sorts of trouble at 37-4 but Ed Ikin hit 56 to give his side a chance.

Once he’d departed at the hands of Jordison, only Zain Abbas with 31 would pose any threat as most bowlers fell for single figures, Jordison taking 5 for 8 to start his weekend in similar style to how he ended it.

Ticknall were all out for 141, and Sandiacre’s celebrations, albeit muted given the following day’s events to come, could begin.