Chaucer youngsters earn bronze at county finals

The Chaucer Junior School team.
The Chaucer Junior School team.

Chaucer Junior School’s year 5/6 Sportshall Athletics team has secured a third place finish in the Derbyshire County Finals at Moorways in Derby, equalling the best the school has ever achieved at a county final.

After finishing fourth in Derbyshire Sportshall finals last year, they were ranked highly on this occasion and came away from a busy day of sprinting, jumping and throwing with bronze medals after narrowly missing out in 2014.

Cavendish Close (Derby City) and Deer Park (North East Derbyshire), were winners and runners-up respectively but Chaucer celebrated their medals in style by stopping by for fish and chips on the way home as a reward.

Coach Graham Woodcock said: “We knew it would be very difficult to replicate such a result from last year so to end up going one better is an outstanding achievement and shows what can be accomplished through hard work, determination and teamwork.

“I would like to thank Mrs Jackson, Mrs Topley, Mrs Wheatley and Mr Wheatley for all their help on the day.

“Thanks also to Ormiston Ilkeston Enterprise Academy for allowing us to use their sports hall and facilities to practice, and to Mrs Hayes and Miss Godridge for their assistance at after-school practices preceding the event.

“Thanks of course go to all the children’s parents and carers too for their support prior to and/or at the finals and naturally to the children for their excellent team spirit, positive attitudes and tremendous work ethic, which always makes them a pleasure to work with.”

The girls team consisted of Evie Bloor, Evie Sisson, Katelyn Hanson, Macie Lees-Vince, Emma East, Iris Castro, Martyna Kluch, Bethanie Glenn, Charlotte Nuttall, Katie Mill, Aaliyah Proctor, Emily Starbrook and Emily Pickering (captain).

The boys team was Connor Stevens, Tyler Place, Morgan Wilson, Denver Toplis, Joel Searcy, Sam Parkes, Kyle Spurr, Ethlan Vincent, Cai Murden, Jack Mercer, Benjamin Broderick, Ewan Buda, Finn Elliott-Hufton and Liam Flitter (c).