Three more players join Ilkeston


Ilkeston Town have announced the signing of three new players ahead of the coming season. Forwards Elliot Reeves and Ryan Whitehurst have signed alongside defender Shaun Rickford.

All three have featured throughout pre-season, with Reeves and Whitehurst both getting on the score sheet in the 2-0 victory over Rossington Main.

Their signings mean Steve Chettle has now added six new players to his squad, after Ryan Wheatley, Liam Mitchell and Kyle Dixon all joined earlier this summer.

All three are excited to be joining Ilkeston and are hoping for a successful season.

“Ilkeston is a massive club and no doubt it will be going places in the next few seasons. After I spoke to Steve (Chettle) and Ian (Deakin) about me joining it was a no brainer.” Rickford said “I’m very excited about the coming season, with the mixture of youth and experience at the club and the way Steve wants us to play, everything is going in the right direction. We will be challenging on all fronts this year.”

The 33-year-old also added “I am really excited to be playing in front of the fans. I know a few people from Ilkeston and know how much this football club means to them.”

Whitehurst (28) also said the size of the club was an important factor in his decision and believes the side can be near the top of the league come the end of the season.

“I’m very excited to come down to the New Manor Ground and work with the coaching staff and the players. And I believe we can go on a run and push for back to back promotions.

“The club is a massive non-league side and the fans were also an important factor in my decision to join. Looking at the attendance figures from last season it is clear how much they put into the club.”

Coaches Chettle and Deakin were one of the biggest factor for youngster Reeves when he made his decision to sign and like Whitehurst and Rickford, he feels that the side can push for promotion.

“One of the major factors was Steve and Ian. I knew Ian before I joined and everyone I know who has played for Steve has spoken highly of him and said he is one of the best managers they have played under.

“I am looking forward to the new season and I feel that we have a strong squad and hopefully it will end with promotion.”

The 20-year-old also went onto say “I’m looking forward to getting to know the fans. And I know this is a bit cliché but they are the 12th man and I am sure that they will get us over the line in games where we aren’t playing at our best.”

All players signed for the season: Ian Deakin, Jamie Hannis, Liam Mitchell, Tom Marshall, Chris Shaw, Charlie Jemson, Shaun Rickford, Elliot Hodgett-Young, Billy Bennett,

Craig Swinscoe, Ryan Wheatley, Kyle Dixon, Jordan Wheatley, Ben Fairclough, Lavell White, Conor Green, Jamie Walker, Ben Morris, Tim Hopkinson, Alex Marshall, Malachi Lavelle-Moore, Ryan Whitehurst, Elliot Reeves