Cyclists in good form during 2012

On July 7, Belper Bicycle Club hosted the annual Mark Storer Memorial 25 Mile Time Trial on the A25/11 course near Etwall. This marked the 20th anniversary of Mark’s death.

The fastest rider was Matt Sinclair from Lutterworth Cycle Centre RT, with a time of 49:28, while winner of the Jaguar Trophy for first Belper BC rider that day was Dave Wallwin with a time of 54:57.

In mid-August, Mike rode the Realteam 25 in Wales and finished with a great time of 00:52:37.

This makes him yet another North Mids record holder for his age at this distance, and the National 66+ record holder too.

The club was in the medals again between October 6-14 at the 2012 UCI Track Cycling Masters World Championships, held at the Manchester Velodrome. DerrickWoodings and Mike Allen picked up a silver medal each for their efforts.

Derrick finished second in the 5k scratch race to Guido Lupo (Italy), the defending world champion in the 70-74 age group, while Mike was runner up in the 2k pursuit to Steffen Munch Hansen (Denmark) in his 65-69 age group.

Throughout the road season there were a number of races that formed the Percy Stallard series. Derrick Woodings finished second overall in his 70–74 age group for this series with 12 points to Mick Ives, who had 24. Mike Allen finished first with a maximum 30 points in his 65–69 age group, having won all six of the qualifying rides.

Out of the 18 races Derrick rode, he won a total of six events, came second four times and finished third six times.

Mike had a total of 18 wins on road and track, with three National track titles, three time trial records and was second in the World track pursuit.

With the road season finished, the doors opened to the Cyclo-cross season.

Belper have a regular contingent of riders of all ages who compete in the SRAM Notts and Derby league races throughout the local area.

October saw another Belper BC-organised event, Round Six of the NDCXL league at Alfreton Park.

The cyclo-cross riders will continue until the last race on January 19 (Round 13) at Darley Moor.