Ilkeston Swimming Club finish fourth in National Arena Swimming League

editorial image

Members of Team Ilkeston competed in the final competition of the year where they were racing at Bramcote Leisure Centre in the National Arena Swimming League. The swimmers were on form as they claimed three first places, 14 second places, and 13 third places.

Overall, Ilkeston S.C finished in fourth position, only six points behind third and nineteen behind second place.

First place performances came from Charlie Palmer in the 100m Fly and 100m Freestyle, and Daniel Sloan in the 100m Freestyle.

Whilst second place finishes were recorded by Lewis Wright (100m Breast and 100m Back), Emily Middleton (100m Back), Lauren Booth (100m Fly), William Foster (100m Back), Sophie King (100m Fly), Daniel Sloan (100m Breast) and Elsie Vivian (100m Free).

Relay teams produced some outstanding results as the 13/u Boys Medley team, the Open Boys Medley team, the Girls 11/u Medley team, the 13/u Boys Freestyle team and Open Boys and Girls Freestyle relay teams all achieved second places for the team.

Third place finishes came from William Foster (200m IM), Emily Middleton and Jo Saunders (100m Breast), William Wright (100m Fly), Lauren Booth, Sophie King and William Wright (100m Free), and Ryan Kirk (50m Free). The 13/u Girls Medley team, the 15/u Boys Freestyle team, the Open Girls Medley team, the 13/u Girls Freestyle team, and the 15/u Boys Medley team all secured third place positions.

The team was; Leah Burgin-Rawson, Keira Banks, Natasha Barker, Keely Woodhead, Sophie King, Emily Middleton, Emily Reynolds, Abigale King, Lauren Booth, Leah Woodhead, Abigail Sloan, Samantha Stafford, Elsie Vivian, Alisha Sanders, Grace Vivian, Lewis Brown, James Wright, Ryan Kirk, Charlie Palmer, Lewis Wright, Jake Gaskin, William Wright, Jo Saunders, Daniel Sloan, Kyle Hudson, William Foster, Matt Daibell and Jake Elson.

Rob Hudson, senior and youth head coach, said, “We had 64 times that were better than round one and two.

“The swimmers have excelled and the third round result is a commendation of the team’s resilience and determination after several team members unfortunately had to pull out due to illness.

“Well done to all that took part in the Arena competitions. I we want to thank all swimmers, parents, committee members, coaching team staff, and Victoria Park Leisure Centre staff for their support during a very successful 2014! Well done swimmers, we are looking forward to working with you all next year.”

Ilkeston Swimming Club also held its Annual Presidents Evening to recognise all of the clubs swimmers achievements during the year.

The winners were:

Splash Pool Endeavour: Gracie Lee; Most Improved: Oscar Hunt.

Team Trophy: Mixed 8/9 – Keira Banks, Lewis Brown, Leah Burgin-Rawson, Tegan Hulme and James Wright.

Backstroke Award: Emily Middleton; Breaststroke Award: Lewis Wright; Butterfly Award: Leah Burgin-Rawson; Freestyle Award: William Wright.

Most Improved Junior Boy: Lewis Brown; Most Improved Junior Girl: Keira Banks; Most Improved Senior Boy: Jake Gaskin; Most Improved Senior Girl: Samantha Stafford.

Commitment Award: Jo Saunders; Poolside Assistance Award: Emily Middleton

The Jamie Rigby Award: Ellis Haddon

The Swimmer of the Year: Charlie Palmer

If you are interested in joining Team Ilkeston, please visit