Leictershire’s bowlers hit back against Derbyshire


Leicestershire’s bowlers hit back on the third afternoon of the Division Two County Championship match at Derby after Billy Godleman and Shiv Thakor had shared a record breaking stand for Derbyshire.

The pair went past the county’s previous highest score for the second wicket of 209 before Clint McKay took the first of three wickets to fall in four overs.

Thakor was caught behind for 132, his best score for Derbyshire, which ended the partnership of 236 in 60 overs, and McKay had Wayne Madsen caught at short cover for 2 in his next over.

Alex Hughes edged Dieter Klein to second slip and Godelman’s innings ended just short of seven hours when he was yorked by Zak Chappell for 141 but Gary Wilson’s unbeaten 50 carried Derbyshire to 416 for 5, 54 short of saving the follow on.