Promotion and cup win in the same weekend

Tim Hampton-Matehe hit a century to inspire West Hallam to cup final glory once again.
Tim Hampton-Matehe hit a century to inspire West Hallam to cup final glory once again.

West Hallam enjoyed a perfect weekend as they first secured promotion to Division Two and then won the Bayley Cup against Swarkestone on Sunday.

Against Alrewas on Saturday, Martin Brandrick won the toss and elected to field first.

It was Alrewas who made the better of the starts with the opening pair taking the score to 76 before Woolley (30) became the first victim.

Burton (58) quickly followed and then Hallam regained control with the Alrewas middle order unable to find their feet thanks to some tight bowling.

Alrewas finished on 186 for 5 with a wicket a piece for Peter Hort, Carl Cruz and James and Tom Lockhart.

Hallam’s reply started steadily but Tim Hampton-Matehe (12) fell with the score on 25.

Martin Brandrick continued his fluent innings as he supplied the anchor role with Matt Tatler (31) and Dave Tittershill (23) keeping the scoreboard moving.

Alrewas’s bowlers toiled hard and got a reward when Brandrick was run out attempting a quick single for a superb 71.

This left James Lockhart (19*) and Cruz (1*) needing five from the final over and they did this with four balls to spare securing 22 points along with guaranteeing promotion to Division Two.

On Sunday, Hallam travelled to Ticknall to face Swarkestone in the final of the Bayley Cup.

Winning the toss, Hallam captain Martin Brandrick elected to bat first.

Hallam started well but Tom Brandrick became the first wicket to fall for 18.

Matt Tatler (24), Dave Tittershill (36) and Lee Barrow (28*) all contributed to the total but the innings was dominated by a sublime century by Tim Hampton-Matehe who scored 100 from 123 balls to guide Hallam to a competitive 238 from their 45 overs.

Hallam’s bowlers knew they needed to be on top of their game with the Ticknall track living up to its batsman-friendly reputation.

Peter Hort and James Lockhart started well, keeping the scoring rate down.

Lockhart got the first breakthrough and the next two wickets both fell to Barrow and then Carl Cruz got the fourth.

With the score at 89 for 4 Hallam were just in control.

Joe Stuart (38) and Lewis Hearne (36) rallied to put on 69 for the sixth wicket but Tom Lockhart removed both of them in quick succession and the Swarkestone line up collapsed to 177 all out.

Hort (0-30), James Lockhart (3-25), Barrow (2-21), Cruz (1-19), Tom Brandrick (0-32) and Tom Lockhart (4-46) all bowled well to ensure Hallam added a second trophy to the cabinet this season.

West Hallam’s third XI travelled to second-placed Codnor looking to narrow the gap on the promotion spot.

Codnor won the toss and elected to bowl. Opening batsman Lawson made 48 but his innings was overshadowed by a maiden half century from youngster Harry Page, whose unbeaten 57 was his first in any form of cricket.

Hallam posted 176 for 6 from their 46 overs.

Codnor never really got going and could only manage 98 for 7 thanks to some fine bowling, Richard Swain was the stand out bowler finishing with figures of 4 for 15.

Shipley Hall

Shipley Hall suffered a big blow to their promotion hopes as they fell to defeat against Lullington Park on Saturday.

Shipley won the toss and asked the home side to bat, Matt Murfin removing opener Jonathan Shales with the score on 24 and then fellow opener Tom Caron on 52.

After James Parkin had Jamie Goodwin caught by Ryan North to leave Lullington Park 66-3 and they then were reduced to 103-6 thanks to further wickets for North and Martinus Gouws, as well as Gouws running out Charlie Veale, Lullington were in some trouble.

But a good late knock by Alan Gough (32) helped them along to 174-7 at the break, Murfin having taken 3-53.

Shipley fell just nine runs short of victory as they were bowled out for 166 with two overs to spare.

Gouws top scored with 24, closely followed by Tom Starr and Neil Parkin on 23 each, but it ultimately wasn’t enough, Goodwin and Nick Richards taking four wickets each.