Sandiacre drop to third after defeat

Sandiacre’s leadership of the Derbyshire Premier League was short-lived as defeat against Spondon on Saturday saw them slip down to third place.

Upon winning the toss, Spondon opted to bat first at Locko Road and that decision was vindicated as Ben Ashdown and Josh Brear produced a fine opening partnership of 82 to put them in a commanding position.

Ashdown fell for 58 after being bowled by John Jordison, with replacement Adam Finlay next to fall with the score on 111 as he was caught behind by Curtley Read off the bowling of Rob Cook.

Read’s hands were also to thank for the dismissal of Chris Windmill for two off Marius Conway-Jones’ delivery and Spondon were 123-3.

Joe Ashdown arrived to steady the ship a little and his 48 would prove crucial to Spondon’s cause.

Others fell cheaply around him, indeed no other batsman scored double figures as Dan Wheeldon took two wickets and Ryan McFadyean another to leave Spondon 209-7 as the overs ran out.

In reply, Sandiacre lost opener Mitch McCann early on as he became Tom Williams’ first victim with the score on just five.

But James Chapman and Ollie Swann took control and added 61 together before Chapman fell for 44, stumped by Dave Tittershill off Windmill’s delivery - Chapman’s knock the best Sandiacre would have to offer.

Swann followed for 27 before Cook and Read followed him in quick succession and Sandiacre were struggling at 82-5.

Andy Rhodes added 25 before being bowled by Windmill, not before Wheeldon was out for just one run to the same bowler.

The target looked unlikely to be reached although Conway-Jones’ late cameo of 40 not out gave the innings some impetus until Jordison, McFadyean and John Trueman all fell late on and Sandiacre were all out for 162 with five overs to spare.

Joe Ashdown and Windmill were chief destroyers with four wickets each.

On Sunday, Sandiacre were in far better form as they secured victory at home to Nottinghamshire side Caythorpe in the Group Three final of the National Club Championship.

Caythorpe won the toss and opted to bat first but after Martin Dobson fell with the score on 22, things failed to get going for the visitors.

James Hawley, Matt Dowman and James Oldham all fell with the score on 39 and one run later Steve Allcoat followed them - all of the wickets taken by McFadyean who was responsible for removing the top five in the order and ending on 5-19.

Andrew Staszkiewicz hit 19 to move the score along but Caythorpe were eventually bowled out for just 92 inside 38 overs, Jordison taking 3 for 14.

Sandiacre lost three wickets in reply and were 30-2 at one stage but Swann (31) and Cook (28) played key roles as the target was passed in the 20th over.

For details of Sandiacre second XI’s win over West Hallam White Rose, see page 49.

The third XI were beaten by six wickets away at Belper Meadows.

Belper put Sandiacre into bat and despite a promising start with 37 each from George Domleo and Richard Burne, and then useful knocks of 47 from Matt Shuttleworth and 26 from Jordan Standring, they were bowled out for 167.

Meadows lost just four wickets in reply, Paul Standring with three of them as the target was passed in the 34th over to give the hosts a comfortable victory in Division Five North.