Teenage Australian signing makes instant impact for Nutbrook

NUTBROOK CC round-up.
NUTBROOK CC round-up.

New overseas player Harry Thoman made an instant impact as Nutbrook opened the 2016 season in Division One of the Derbyshire County League with a three-wicket victory at Clifton.

The 18-year-old Australian, a right-arm seamer, opened the bowling, after skipper Steven ‘Sandy’ Sanderson had put the hosts in, and bagged his first wicket in his second over, skittling opener Alex Woolliscroft for a duck.

Thoman also cleaned up the tail to finish with fine debut figures of 4-32 from 10.1 overs as Clifton collapsed from 72-2 and 105-3 to 141 all out.

More key wickets fell to spin twins Richard Henshaw (2-14 in ten overs), who trapped top scorer Josh Dutton lbw for 35 (five fours), and Harry Duckle (2-23 in six overs), while Michael Chambers (1-24 in six) and another newcomer, Kashif Hussain (1-14 in six), claimed important scalps too. Chambers removed home skipper Matt Wilson for 13 before Hussain dislodged the dangerous-looking Faisal Khan for 26 (four fours).

Nutbrook’s reply got off to the worst possible start when opening bat Sahd Shafiq was bowled third ball for nought. But a second-wicket stand of 44 between Hussain (28, three fours) and Chambers (ten) steadied the ship.

Hussain became one of three victims for Clifton’s most effective bowler, Edward Wilson, who took 3-36 in ten overs. And at 69 for four, the match was far from over.

However, Nutbrook’s middle order was respectably solid, with Sanderson adding 17 and Henshaw 16 before a decisive knock by George Magdelano, who fired five boundaries in a fine 32.

By the time Magdelano had finally perished, bowled by Faisal Khan (2-26 in six overs), the visitors were only 19 runs short of victory, which was safely completed by Tom Bentley with an undefeated 22 (three fours). The winning run came as early as the 32nd over as Nutbrook finished on 142-7.

This Saturday, Nutbrook play their first home game of the new campaign when they entertain Duffield at the Arthur Fisher Memorial Ground (12.30 pm start).