Thrilling tied game followed by cup joy

Sandiacre bowler Jono Clare (right) took four wickets for just 15 runs to help his side claim the Premier T20 Cup on Sunday.
Sandiacre bowler Jono Clare (right) took four wickets for just 15 runs to help his side claim the Premier T20 Cup on Sunday.

Two giants of the Derbyshire Premier League battled out a thrilling tie at Victoria Avenue on Saturday, with Ockbrook & Borrowash’s Trevor Smith being run out on the final ball to leave the sides deadlocked on 203 apiece.

There was little to choose between the two teams all day, but a brilliant knock from Derbyshire’s Dan Redfern (73) appeared to be giving the home side the upper hand as he and opener Alistair Dixon (57) added 106 quick runs for the second wicket after Matt Cassar (23) had provided a solid opening

Redfern blasted three sixes and seven fours and at the end of the 41st over Ockbrook were sitting pretty on 160 for 1.

Three overs later, however, wickets for Ollie Uffindall (2-55) and John Jordison (2-46) had changed the complexion of the match with the reply on 165 for 4 with six overs remaining.

Ockbrook still required a further 38 from five overs and Jake Needham and Jack Ratcliffe managed to scramble 22 runs from the next three to leave the match finely poised.

Jordison struck at the end of the penultimate over to remove Ratcliffe leaving ten runs required from the final six balls.

A Smith maximum did no harm at all to Ockbrook’s chances but he was run out off the final delivery attempting to scramble the winning run.

Earlier in the day Sandiacre initially faltered, Gareth Young and Kevin Dean striking early to leave the visitors on 14 for 2.

Man of the Match Ollie Swann (96*) then combined solidly with Ollie Uffindall (36) and Sandiacre reached 87 for 2 in the 27th over.

Jonathan Clare ended Uffindall’s knock and the innings faltered again with Lian Wharton (5-51) on his way to an excellent five-wicket haul.

But the presence of Swann kept the innings afloat, the Sandiacre number three unbeaten at the interval having hit a six and eight fours during his 140-ball stay.

Sunday saw Sandiacre take glory in the finals day of the Premier T20 competition.

Played at Alfreton, Sandiacre began by overcoming the host side by three wickets, despite Matt Lineker’s unbeaten 81 helping his side to a total of 134-4.

Despite a slow start from the top order, Ryan McFadyean’s 36 and 25 from Dan Wheeldon helped see Sandiacre home with just two balls to spare.

The final saw Sandiacre face Spondon, who were bowled out for just 105 in 19 overs.

Jono Clare was the main tormentor as he took 4 for 15, Wheeldon helping himself to three wickets.

In reply, Sandiacre took 17.5 overs to seal the win for the loss of just three wickets, Ollie Swann’s unbeaten 51 the catalyst for victory by seven wickets.

On Saturday, Sandiacre’s second XI fell to a five wicket defeat to Ockbrook & Borrowash.

Sandiacre made 209-5, Tom Priestley and Ben Ruhrmund with 61 and 62 respectively.

But the visitors had Ian Darlington in fine form as his unbeaten 87 helped them home inside 43 overs.

The third XI were frustrated at Matlock and had to make do with a winning draw.

Town totalled 165-9, Chris Attwood top scoring on 67, but Matlock held firm and survived to the end with the score on 80-9 to avoid an outright defeat.

On Sunday, the thirds eased to victory at Darley Abbey in the second round of the Bayley Cup.

Chris Attwood struck a superb unbeaten 101 and Richard Burne 56 in Sandiacre’s innings, Ashley Brown taking four Darley wickets in a 56-run success.